Mission & History


The Mission of the National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women’s Clubs, Inc. is to promote and protect the interests of African American business and professional women; to serve as advisors for young people seeking to enter business and the professions; to improve the quality of life in our local and global communities, and to foster good fellowship.


The National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women’s Clubs, Inc. is comprised of seven districts: The Mid-Atlantic, North Central, Northeast, Southeast, South Central, Western, and International districts. The Northeast District was organized in 1959 at the first regional meeting of the Southeast District. It is the largest of the seven districts, that form the NANBPWC and includes the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, northern New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont, and the Island of Bermuda. The regional meetings are now called District Conferences. The Northeast District has been involved in a number of different projects on both the District and National levels.


  • Assisted in a national project which dug water wells in the Cameroon.
  • March 1999 opened NE district sponsored the health care facility in the village of Apatrapa, Ghana, West Africa– The District continues to support facility with donation of medical supplies and services.
  • In February 2000 contributed $1,000 to assist residents of Mozambique who were directly affected by devastating floods.
  • In 1999 contributed toward funding to pay down the mortgage on our National Headquarters.
  • Contributed 2 VCRs to The Nannie Jenkins Learning Center in Cuthbert, Georgia.
  • In 2001 donated monies to help victims and families affected by the September 11th terrorist attack on the World Trade Center.
  • In 2002, for the first time, six clubs of the Northeast District collaborated on a health program. The theme: Empowerment Through Health Literacy: Risks, Realities and Remedies. The participating clubs were: The Bronx, Brooklyn, Laurelton, New York, Riverside, and Williamsbridge. The officers and members were commended by Governor Yvonne Harris Jones for providing local communities with relevant information.
  • In 2005, the Northeast District responded to the disaster relief efforts in the wake of hurricane Katrina by donating over $3,000 to the Governor to the South-Central District of the NANBPWC, Inc., to assist the victims of the Gulf Region.
  • We support various initiatives in the area of cultural arts and are proud to say that in 2000, 2005, 2006, 2011 and 2012, the winners of the NANBPWC National Vocal Arts Competition were from the “Mighty” Northeast District. The Northeast District is the home of many of our past and current national officers: our current representatives are Diane Toppin, President; Annie R. Lucas, Director of Membership; Lois Branch, Treasurer and International Governor Dr. Beryl Dorsett.


Past National Presidents, Florence Allen Holmes, Mary E. Singletary, Jacquelyn Gates-Shipe and Peola Smith-Smith; Past National First Vice-Presidents Diane Toppin, Dr. Doris F. Johnson, Helen W. Scott and Robert London; Past Director of Membership Hazel Briceno; Past National Second Vice-President Denise L. Taylor; Past National Financial Secretary Lois Branch, Heather Laymon and Joan Pritchard; Past National Treasurer Esme Granger, Wendy P. Malliett, Hazel Briceno, and Natasha Bray; Past National Recording Secretary Evelyn Washington, Claretha L. Smith and Karma Davis; Past National Editors Noble Beason Robinson, Joysetta Pearce and Joanne E. Braxton; Past National Resources Noble Beason Robinson and Past National Director of Education Helen W. Scott and Denise L. Taylor.


At the 57th Northeast District Expanded Meeting held in Harlem, NY, Ericka Davis was elected the Seventeenth Governor of the Northeast District.

Our Past Serving Northeast District Governors are:

Eureka Whord*
Helen Butler Brown*
Dorothy North Payne*
Grace Petteway*
Dorothy Hutchins*
Dorothy Francine Johnson*
Helen Scott
Dorothea Lee*
Roberta London*
Joysetta Pearse
Conna M Cook
Yvonne Harris Jones
Joanne E. Braxton
Annie R. Lucas
Claretha L. Smith
Rev. Dr. Iris Banister



1999- 2003
2003- 2007
2007- 2011
2011- 2013
2013 – 2017